shape
carat
color
clarity

Grandma''s aqua (?) and ruby rings

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

mrscushion

Ideal_Rock
My grandmother gifted me two rings today. I think they are very pretty and I think I'll wear them a fair bit.

There are no certificates, etc., so I have some questions as to whether the stones are really what she was told they are.

The first ring is a 14K gold ring (ring has a stamp inside) with rubies. Grandma says she bought this one in Thailand some 30 or 40 years ago.

The second ring is silver with a step-cut aquamarine. This ring was purchased in a local B&M store that certainly has a good & honest reputation, though I'm not sure they are the most knowledgeable colored stone jewelers. The aqua seems a little blue for an aqua, but I'm no expert. My mom has a giant aqua cocktail ring that is decidedly more turquoise. Could it be another gem stone besides aqua?

Anyway, here is the ruby ring.

mscushion_rubyring_topview.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium

Those are lovely gifts!

Wow, I didn’t know that Thailand sold 14kt gold items; my experience in South East Asia is that everyone only sells high carat gold items. Even 18kt is be extremely difficult to find, much less in those days. The ring itself is very unique though. There’s no way to tell via pictures if the rubies are indeed real.

Blue topaz? Aquamarines come in many different blues so again, there’s no definitive answer as to what’s the gemstone. Synthetic aquamarine?

ma re

Ideal_Rock