shape
carat
color
clarity

Wedding music. Help!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

ang3199

Brilliant_Rock
Hello my fellow BIW''s! What are some good songs to be played while guests are being seated for the ceremony? My FBIL is playing the piano and a good friend will be playing the flute.

Is there usually a musical number during the ceremony? Does "here comes the bride" have to be played when I walk up the aisle? What could be done in it''s place?

What is a good song for the processional?

My goodness, sorry for all the questions here. I tend to ramble.
41.gif

anchor31

Ideal_Rock
I''m having a brass quintet, and I''ll probably ask them to play some nice cheerful tunes before the ceremony begins.

As for the processional, I will be using Mussorgsky'' Pictures at an Exhibition, my favorite classical piece (I studied music for a time). My groom and the ladies will walk in on Promenade 1 and I will walk in on The Gates at Kiev. We chose Beethoven''s Ode to Joy from the 9th Symphony for the recessional. I have to say not many modern brides use "Here comes the Bride", it''s even become quite popular to use modern songs from known singers. As a musician and a bit of a classical purist when it comes to music, I''m not a fan of this idea, but to each their own!

Fancy605

Brilliant_Rock
You can have whatever music you like best.

Pre ceremony for us included a piano and 2 extremely talented violinists. They alternated with who played. They did all types of happy classical pieces as well as hymns. The only one we really insisted on was Amazing Grace. We let them pick the rest. They began about 20 min before the ceremony or so (as guests began to arrive).

During the ceremony, we had these songs:

Seating of grandmother and parents: Jesu Joy of Man''s Desiring
Brides Maids: Cannon in D (one of my favorites! Tried, but true i think)