shape
carat
color
clarity

Yellow Tourmaline

swaye2010

Brilliant_Rock
I am new to colored gemstones but I feel like I need a bit more of color in my life. I have a precision gemstone cutter that has been helping me select rough for a couple of ring projects that I have in mind. I bought this yellow tourmaline rough yesterday and I am told it could yield an 8 to 9 mm stone. He has to get a better look at the rough but it is said to be eye clean. I had this idea of an antique style stone but I was told that culet facets can kill a stones brilliance and that many small facets is the best way to improve its scintillation. I also haven’t found a lot of examples of yellow tourmaline’s and it seems this is not as common of a color. I am hoping that when it is cut that it doesn’t look quite as brown as some of the pictures I have seen.

I am thinking of various settings to put the finished gemstone in. I quite like the RC vintage setting but I also like the idea of making it look like a sunflower in a halo. Does anyone have a yellow tourmaline that I can see a picture of? Any ideas of the best cuts for this type of rough? I was hoping to go with something round or oval....

49237511-A891-4E6F-94B2-13E3EBFA39AD.jpeg E7CF3125-A885-4E39-8274-D9CA52FC43BC.jpeg C0A87517-BCB8-487A-9971-C070F8D011F5.jpeg A1268422-1926-4BFF-A335-9B97C31F57EC.jpeg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
It is a balance between preserving colour and trying to get as much brilliance as possible. It is best that you ask the lapidary this question.

Hivona

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Here’s one.

3DCEAE28-D3F4-434D-8CDD-CD0D13132EB6.png

swaye2010

Brilliant_Rock
Here’s one.

3DCEAE28-D3F4-434D-8CDD-CD0D13132EB6.png
That is pretty...I am not completely set on ‘shape’ but I want to make the most out of the color/brilliance. I am hoping that when it is cut that it won’t go too dark yellow. I have seen a few that are lighter but most of them have a tendency to look more golden brown when cut.

dk168