shape
carat
color
clarity

Would you make this trade???

DominaMusica

Rough_Rock
Hello, I am so eager for all your expertise and advice on this potential transaction! I've been offered a trade deal that I'm considering and hope that you will give me advice, especially those of you who love antique rings and older stones!

Short background, some of you may know this already: original engagement ring experience 10 years ago was terrible (bad stones, shoddy workmanship), so they remade the ring but it still wasn't what we wanted (it was a 1.11 princess with .35 side trillions). I paired it with a Whitney Boin platinum eternity band that we had gotten a great price on, but it also wasn't working for me (too heavy and wide (I'm a musician, so I need my rings to be light and not sharp)). Around our 5-year anniversary, we went back to that jeweler (unfortunately) so we could trade in and trade up the princess ring for a round brilliant (1.70, H). We are pretty sure they scalped us and they were very intimidating and pushy and we felt trapped because we had already invested the money with them. So, we get the round brilliant but they insist on putting it in a Tiffany 6-prong, which I hate because it's sharp.