shape
carat
color
clarity

Would you lavish your kids with diamonds?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

fisherofmengirly

Ideal_Rock
No way!

At 5? Never ever!

I got my first "real" jewelry when I graduated 6th grade, as a gift for making it through and because my dad had been waiting since I was born to get his little girl something prettiful.
9.gif
It was a birthstone ring with **tiny** diamonds on either side of the birthstone. I loved it and cherished it and took SUCH good care of it.

I think Paul and I will do the same, because moving on to middle school is a big thing, and the ring just seemed like SO much at the time, and in my heart, it still is, but it''s not like it was tons of money, but it truly made me feel like an adolescent. It was very nice and I will always remember the look on my dad and mom''s face when I opened it and giggled and jumped and acted like a loon!

I also don''t think the first "real" jewelry our daughter will get will be earrings; I lose them continuously and I am not willing to risk my child having that same trait!

divergrrl

Ideal_Rock
well, my 6 month old has a 1ctw pair of princess cut stud earrings...oh wait, those are mine...but i''m planning on giving them to her for her wedding day perhaps.

i think growing into womanhood has rites of passage, with many experiences to anticipate/look forward to. one of those is receiving that 1st piece of important jewelry...mine was a gorgeous yg bracelet i still wear...from my aunt who is a gem stone fiend. If you give them everything too soon, what is there to look forward to?

I feel 5 is too young...I just want my kids to be little as long as possible, and when they do want expensive items, I''m going to use that as a teaching experience (save, delay gratification, earn, appreciate...etc).

iheartscience

Super_Ideal_Rock