shape
carat
color
clarity

Would you get a GIA report with your ACA diamond?

Searchingforering

Rough_Rock
Hello, I am getting a 2 ct ACA H color diamond from WhiteFlash for my e-ring. I am relatively new to diamonds. The diamond, of course, will come with the AGS report. Would you pay $448 + tax for a GIA cert? GIA inscriptions will cost $24, would you get this if you got the GIA?

Thank you in advance for your opinion!

Is there a specific reason you'd want a GIA report as well? Personally, I'd skip it. The reputation of AGS and WF would be enough for me to feel confident as to what I'll be getting. Plus, you can always get the GIA report later for whatever reason. Might as well save yourself some time and $ for now!

MamaBear

Brilliant_Rock
I wouldn’t bother myself. I’m comfortable with the single report. Especially, dealing with Whiteflash!

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
What would the goal of getting the GIA report be? As in - what are you wanting to achieve?

My answer depends on yours.

Searchingforering

Rough_Rock
I was initially thinking the GIA report gives more insurance value and possible resale value later on the road or for passing the ring on as an heirloom. Would another report matter with that?

Diamond Girl 21

Ideal_Rock
Premium
You definitely don't need one, but if you think you may want one in the future I would do it now. I love a diamond with dual certification.

I was initially thinking the GIA report gives more insurance value and possible resale value later on the road or for passing the ring on as an heirloom. Would another report matter with that?

I have heard that GIA tends to be more well-known outside of the US. So it may help with resale. And usually I'd recommend sending loose stones to labs before they're set for convenience's sake.