shape
carat
color
clarity

Work/Life Balance?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

purelily

Shiny_Rock
How do you maintain a healthy work/life balance in your relationship?

I graduated from law school last year and just recently passsed my bar. Although I started working in marketing, I would like to get back to what I enjoy doing-- being an advocate. I am hoping to work as an attorney (or paralegal since the job market is so bad right now) helping others.

I recently had an interview for an attorney position (which I did not receive). During the interview, the firm made it (sort of) clear that it would be difficult to maintain a work/life balance. I know as an associate, it may be difficult to maintain this balance as there will be many long hours.

This got me to thinking, not only how would you maintain a healthy work/life balance, but also would you avoid positions that do not offer this option? Or, if you were in my position and just want *any* position, would you just take anything even though it would cut into your time with your SO?

misskitty

Brilliant_Rock
Work/life balance is HUGE for me. Right now, I''m not doing it very well, because school tends to eat up a lot of my time, especially in the evenings, but when I finish, I''m going to make that a priority.

There are certain companies I pretty much won''t even consider working for, because they don''t even try to hide the fact that they work their people to the bone. I have friends who have had to deal with 90+ hour work weeks during a crunch (sometimes for months on end), and the consequences aren''t pretty -- they lost a ton of weight, got sick often, and their relationships suffered. Needless to say, that is Not. For. Me.

That said, for the right job, I wouldn''t mind putting in some extra work...just nothing overboard. Once it starts to cut into my personal life and/or physical health, I draw the line.

purelily

Shiny_Rock