shape
carat
color
clarity

Why is this diamond a GIA "Very Good" rather than "Excellent"?

Nafrenchfry

Rough_Rock
Hello!

I am brand new to the diamond community and am just starting to learn the basics. I've tried to educate myself as much as possible but am confused about the cut grading on a diamond I just bought for an engagement ring. (So, yes, my search is over but I'm still just curious about learning more about the industry and how it works.)

The diamond I purchased has a "Very Good" cut but, based on my very elementary understanding of things, it appears to have better proportions than some of the "Excellent" diamonds I looked at. So, my question is, why is this diamond evaluated as a "Very Good"? What is the effect of whichever proportion is not "Excellent"? In other words, am I going to regret not buying an "Excellent" cut diamond? (In case you're curious, it's a Round 0.8 ct E VS2.)

Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
L/W Ratio: 1.01
Depth %: 62.30
Girdle: Medium-Slightly Thick
Table %: 56.00
Culet: None
Crown Angle: 36.00
Crown %: 16.00
Pavillion Angle: 40.60
Pavillion %: 42.50
Star length %: 55
Lower half %: 80

It appears to have an HCA score of 1.8 and an AGS cut grade of 1B. I don't have any information on it regarding IdealScope.

Thanks, in advance, for helping me continue my education into the world of diamonds. :)

yssie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Post the report.
I want to know who evaluated it and see the proportions diagram.
Are there any comments regarding brillianteering?

skypie

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
The crown angle seems too high, diamond may be a touch deep too.

Nafrenchfry

Rough_Rock