Find your diamond
Find your jewelry
shape
carat
color
clarity

Why do I keep getting an error message?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

MIKES3

Rough_Rock
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
11
Yes, I am fully aware this is the wrong section. However, it''s quite irritating when you write soemthing nice and long and ge this. I''m trying to copy & paste an image I uploaded from Photobucket.


Error Message
Unspecified error. Please report this error to the webmaster of this board. Thank you.
If you want more information about this error or would like to report this error to the administrator of this bulletin board, please contact the webmaster of this web site. We appologize for any inconvenience this might''ve caused you.


WHY??
 

Ali

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
354
Date: 4/15/2009 3:18:44 PM
Author:MIKES3
Yes, I am fully aware this is the wrong section. However, it''s quite irritating when you write soemthing nice and long and ge this. I''m trying to copy & paste an image I uploaded from Photobucket.



Error Message
Unspecified error. Please report this error to the webmaster of this board. Thank you.

If you want more information about this error or would like to report this error to the administrator of this bulletin board, please contact the webmaster of this web site. We appologize for any inconvenience this might''ve caused you.


WHY??
Any time you get an error message, please contact us.
If we know what the error is, we can explain it. If not, we can look into it to see if the forums are being affected in some way.
We can always be contact via the "Report Concern" button under any post. Also, keep in mind, it is important to have your email address up to date in your personal profile section so that we may contact you.

In this case, your error was due to an invalid link. Per the policies:

To reduce the number of broken links and keep the forum clean, photo hosting sites (Photobucket, Imageshack, Flickr, etc.) and personal web pages are not allowed to be linked on Pricescope. Please upload your images directly to Pricescope.


The link to forum policies can be found near the bottom of every forum page: https://www.pricescope.com/idealbb/faq.asp?mode=policy
 

musey

Super_Ideal_Rock
Joined
Sep 30, 2006
Messages
11,242
I get it all the time. I haven''t bothered to mention it to admins because it usually fixes itself on the second try, but in the future I will report it since Ali suggests to.
 

beach

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
714
I have learned to copy my long messages just in case :) This error comes up every once in awhile
 

kama_s

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,617
Happens to me very frequently as well actually. I''ve made it a point to copy my message before clicking on submit. And ironically, it almost always happens on that odd message I forgot to copy before posting
 

Ali

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
354
Date: 4/15/2009 3:31:02 PM
Author: MIKES3
Thank you for the quick reply. I really appreciate it
You''re welcome. If you ever have any trouble, just contact us.


As noted by other members, there are times when a message gets ''eaten'' by some wicked cybermonster. This occaisional deadlock happens when more than one person is posting at the exact same time. It is frustrating to lose a post, but our goal is to have it only a very rare occurance. Usually a repost will correct the problem. If a certain post is lost more than once, we need to know about it. We can''t help the lost deadlocks, so copy if you have something long! But for other errors, we can usually find a solution.

Happy posting!
 

kama_s

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,617
Date: 4/15/2009 3:48:00 PM
Author: Ali

This occaisional deadlock happens when more than one person is posting at the exact same time.
That''s what I thought. Thanks for clarifying, Ali!
 

Hudson_Hawk

Super_Ideal_Rock
Joined
Nov 2, 2006
Messages
10,541
Ladies, if you click "retry" or the back button on your browser you can access the pre-eaten msg, copy it and then paste it into a new reply/post. Clicking retry will not let you physically resubmit your prior post, but you can at least access the content.
 

kama_s

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,617
Date: 4/15/2009 4:14:04 PM
Author: Hudson_Hawk
Ladies, if you click ''retry'' or the back button on your browser you can access the pre-eaten msg, copy it and then paste it into a new reply/post. Clicking retry will not let you physically resubmit your prior post, but you can at least access the content.
Sadly, that doesn''t happen for me. When I click on retry or press the back button, I get a clean fresh slate.
 

Hudson_Hawk

Super_Ideal_Rock
Joined
Nov 2, 2006
Messages
10,541
Hmmm... Maybe because of your cookie settings?
 

MIKES3

Rough_Rock
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
11
Yeah, I got to excited finding this forum and I just started typing. Normally I'm really good at the copy & paste, but it slipped my mind today
 

meresal

Ideal_Rock
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
5,720
Date: 4/15/2009 4:14:04 PM
Author: Hudson_Hawk
Ladies, if you click ''retry'' or the back button on your browser you can access the pre-eaten msg, copy it and then paste it into a new reply/post. Clicking retry will not let you physically resubmit your prior post, but you can at least access the content.
This doesn''t work for me either. Anytime I click back it takes me to an empty post form box. I now copy EVERY single post I have that is over 2 lines of type before submitting.
 

Hudson_Hawk

Super_Ideal_Rock
Joined
Nov 2, 2006
Messages
10,541
Looooove the new avatar Mer!
 

meresal

Ideal_Rock
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
5,720
Date: 4/15/2009 4:47:51 PM
Author: Hudson_Hawk
Looooove the new avatar Mer!
Thank you!! I thought it was about time... FI was starting to get a big head between the engagment pics AND being in my AV
 

bee*

Super_Ideal_Rock
Joined
May 14, 2006
Messages
12,170
Date: 4/15/2009 4:00:32 PM
Author: kama_s
Date: 4/15/2009 3:48:00 PM

Author: Ali


This occaisional deadlock happens when more than one person is posting at the exact same time.
That''s what I thought. Thanks for clarifying, Ali!
ahh that makes sense! Thanks for explaining!
 

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
14,167
Date: 4/15/2009 4:14:04 PM
Author: Hudson_Hawk
Ladies, if you click ''retry'' or the back button on your browser you can access the pre-eaten msg, copy it and then paste it into a new reply/post. Clicking retry will not let you physically resubmit your prior post, but you can at least access the content.
Are you on a mac? This works for me on my mac but not on my work PC.
 

fieryred33143

Ideal_Rock
Joined
May 18, 2008
Messages
6,689
Date: 4/15/2009 5:27:43 PM
Author: neatfreak

Date: 4/15/2009 4:14:04 PM
Author: Hudson_Hawk
Ladies, if you click ''retry'' or the back button on your browser you can access the pre-eaten msg, copy it and then paste it into a new reply/post. Clicking retry will not let you physically resubmit your prior post, but you can at least access the content.
Are you on a mac? This works for me on my mac but not on my work PC.
Yeah that doesn''t work on my PC either.

I''ve had those error messages all day today. PS had 5 of my posts for lunch today


I don''t bother reporting but will next time!
 

beach

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
714
Date: 4/15/2009 5:27:43 PM
Author: neatfreak

Date: 4/15/2009 4:14:04 PM
Author: Hudson_Hawk
Ladies, if you click ''retry'' or the back button on your browser you can access the pre-eaten msg, copy it and then paste it into a new reply/post. Clicking retry will not let you physically resubmit your prior post, but you can at least access the content.
Are you on a mac? This works for me on my mac but not on my work PC.
Does not work. I have tried that many times on my PC :)
 

Ali

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Sep 4, 2007
Messages
354
Explorer wipes messages away once you lose them. If you don''t want to copy, you can use Firefox browser instead of Explorer. In Firefox, you don''t lose the post if it happens to error. There are some other minor differences in the two browsers but if the fear of losing a post is at the top of your list, you may want to use Firefox.
 

neatfreak

Super_Ideal_Rock
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
14,167
Date: 4/15/2009 6:04:46 PM
Author: Ali
Explorer wipes messages away once you lose them. If you don''t want to copy, you can use Firefox browser instead of Explorer. In Firefox, you don''t lose the post if it happens to error. There are some other minor differences in the two browsers but if the fear of losing a post is at the top of your list, you may want to use Firefox.
And Apple''s Safari must be the same as firefox which is why it works on my mac. Thanks Ali!
 
Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.
Be a part of the community It's free, join today!
    What is White Gold?
    What is White Gold?
    Push Present: Engagement Ring Upgrade
    Push Present: Engagement Ring Upgrade
    20th Anniversary Upgrade
    20th Anniversary Upgrade

Need Something Special?

Get a quote from multiple trusted and vetted jewelers.

Holloway Cut Advisor



Diamond Eye Candy

Click to view full-size image.

New posts

Top