shape
carat
color
clarity

Which Sapphire Ring Would You Choose?

Mae auditore

Rough_Rock
Dear Ladies and Gentlemen of the Forum,

I am new to colored gemstones or diamonds as Jewelry. I collect different type of gems for their energy, but just rough, untreated, small pieces of gems and tumble stones.

A month ago my boyfriend suddenly told me, the Diamond Ring Family Heirloom he thought he would get from his mom for his wife is not available because his mother has one request before handing it down to him...and that is to meet the lady in person.

Our relationship is...unusual. I am Indonesian, born in the capital city of Jakarta (please excuse my not perfect English). He is an American guy from New Jersey. We are of the same age. We met through 'The Houseplant Hobbyist' group in Facebook because of our love for plants.

Due to Covid, i was unable to travel to the US. But he can travel to Jakarta to see me. He has made it here couple of times over these two years period.
But oh what was i on about, this is a gemstone forum. The stress must have got to me.

Long story short, because the initial Diamond ring is now unavailable, we now must find an engagement ring in less than a month. My boyfriend is now here in Jakarta with me. He is going to ask my dad for my hand tomorrow.

I know, i know, you are probably thinking, "Why he needs your dad's permission when you're both 40++ years old?!"

It's just for cultural formality, really. My dad is very modern for an Indonesian. Whom i marry is really up to me. But just out of respect, as a man the bf needs to "ask" my dad and the bf also needs to present me with a ring to confirm the proposal. He can't just tell my father, "I am going to marry ur daughter~ i swear to God! But uh...the ring is still with my mom back in the states so...yeaaa.... Can we get engaged WITHOUT a ring, Sir? I'll take ur daughter back home to see ma and then we'll see."