shape
carat
color
clarity

Where to find precision cut lab red-pink rubies/sapphires?

milla

Rough_Rock
Hi all!

I'm fairly new to all this, and was looking for some advice from you lovely people (my Googling doesn't seem to get me anywhere...) :)

I'm looking for an engagement ring - either an antique ring, or a new bespoke one.

For a bespoke ring, I'd consider a lab grown reddish pink sapphire/ruby. But cut seems very important in them - and so far I've had no luck tracking down excellent/precision cut lab gems! Is this an impossible task, and should I realistically switch into only considering well-cut mined sapphires/rubies?

Specifically I'm looking for:

Colour: I'm not too keen on the blood-red standard Chatham ruby nor a super hot-pink sapphire. I'd love something in between these shades, a nice vivid pinkish-red/reddish pink.

Glow/fluorescence (not too sure about the right terminology, sorry): Do lab stones have the same 'spark' as some mined gems do in this department?

Cushion/oval cut: Facing up around 5.5 mm x 6.5 mm with a good depth to width ratio (I understand 60-80% is ideal?) to prevent a 'window' effect. I think this would make them around 1.2-1.4 cts?

Also I've realised it's hard to look for coloured gems just based on online pictures (or even videos). I'm based in London UK and a lot of online (lab) gems seem to be shipping from the US or Canada. So extra bonus points if you know any London-based dealers for stones to see in person. :love:

I know this might sound impossible, but I haven't gotten far by myself...

I

Irving

Try contacting Jeff White, he's an excellent precision cutter. He has some lab-made gemstone slabs that he could cut for you. He's based in the US though, but he'd probably ship abroad. I don't know if he has lab-created ruby. You could also consider a spinel (whether natural or lab created) which would come in the color you're looking for and would cost less than a sapphire/ruby.

Misscaliente08

Rough_Rock