shape
carat
color
clarity

What determines the price of natural pearls?

jnl123

Rough_Rock
i'm new to pearls and I've been looking at a few pairs of natural saltwater pearls through reputable auction houses; i.e. doyle and bonams. Looking at all the sold natural saltwater pearls I see they all come with GIA paperwork. Some go for 1-3k while others sell for 20k plus. The difference between them isn't obvious. Some pearls obviously have a large mm or the necklace has more pearls but it seems in most cases the pearls that cost 20k aren't much bigger or there isn't that many more pearls than the ones that sell for 1k-3k. What is determining the price?

torontocatlady

Shiny_Rock
Although I don't have the answer for you, I too am curious. Watching this thread! Hopefully someone with pearl expertise is able to help

cmd2014

Ideal_Rock
Premium