carat
color
clarity

Vintage 18ct amethyst ring

theredspinel

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Howdy folks

(Dont know why I did that). I'm new to the world of vintage and antique jewellery always been interested and the romatacism of there being a story behind a piece has always captivated me.

So, intro over, I just bought an antique ring! As per title, sold as 18ct yellow gold with a large center amethyst. Its big and swirly :roll2: just my style!

I'll attach pics as soon as it gets here, and disclose the price I paid too (bargain)! And hopefully get your input on weather it's an original or reproduction or what. If I've been had, I'd rather know it!

In the meantime I thought I'd post this and if theres any words of wisdom you seasoned antique/vintage hunters can share with me, I'm an able and willing student :mrgreen2:

Thank you!

TRS

YadaYadaYada

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ah, can't wait to see your new ring especially since you got a deal in it, who doesn't love a bargain.

No real advice from me just buy what you love and it always helps if you can find some good connections locally. We have a gold and coin shop one town over and he has a Russian diamond dealer that buys all his good diamonds people bring in. If he knows I'm looking he will let me know before he calls the dealer otherwise these items never hit the store!

stracci2000

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ah, can't wait to see your new ring especially since you got a deal in it, who doesn't love a bargain.

No real advice from me just buy what you love and it always helps if you can find some good connections locally. We have a gold and coin shop one town over and he has a Russian diamond dealer that buys all his good diamonds people bring in. If he knows I'm looking he will let me know before he calls the dealer otherwise these items never hit the store!

@theredspinel, I cant wait to see your ring!