shape
carat
color
clarity

This is an Alexandrite!!!

liao

Shiny_Rock
I just picked this beauty up from GRS. GRS describes the color-changing from vivid bluish green to vivid pink! yes, both of they think both of them are vivid

These pictures were taken under mix light. As you may already know, the green spectrum of alexandrite is almost impossible to capture. I tried to take several pic under fluorescent light only, but the stone looks nearly black. This stone looks pink under incandescent light (it is as pink as a little trace of pink color on the picture above). It seems like I am a terrible photographer, I cannot even take the pic under incandescent only ;(

I think I will send this stone to Gubelin or AGL. Honestly, I prefer SSEF for alexandrite, but I no longer live in eu :errrr:

img_20141122_162917.jpg

img_20141122_162943.jpg

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
liao|1416800319|3789330 said:
I think I will send this stone to Gubelin or AGL. Honestly, I prefer SSEF for alexandrite, but I no longer live in eu :errrr:

AGL

Marlow

Brilliant_Rock
Do you have the weight and the orign??

Looks really nice - it is funny but a bit like my east african CCG!

A larger pic would be nice!!

liao

Shiny_Rock
Marlow|1416805983|3789375 said:
Do you have the weight and the orign??

Looks really nice - it is funny but a bit like my east african CCG!

A larger pic would be nice!!

2.19ct. The seller claims this is a Tanzanian alexandrite, but GRS cannot conclude its origin.

Do you mind sharing the pic of the color change garnet you are talking about? :naughty: Technically, both alexandrite and color change garnet have a wide range of color. So, I am not surprise if there exist color change garnet that rival the finest alexandrite, vice versa. The problem is, most of color change garnet is much darker than alexandrite.

I will try to take more pics once I return.