shape
carat
color
clarity

Stuller setting question

CSpan

Brilliant_Rock
20190914_015409.jpg 20190914_015353.jpg 20190914_015326.jpg 20190914_015307.jpg Long time reader, newbie poster here.

I have an unusually shaped ering at a lower color so I knew I would need to have something made. I have been searching for a complementary band for almost 5 years. My previous jeweler passed away and this is my first time working with a new vendor in the same building. He ordered a Stuller setting and it came in a few weeks ago. When I tried it I commented that the prongs felt sharp but he assured me once set they would not be sharp at all. Fast forward to today. I picked up the set ring and it is still sharp. I'm not sure of it is the mounting or how it was set. He did say he could polish it but I'm concerned it won't be enough. At this point it is painful to wear, I'm heartbroken.

Has anyone experienced any issues with settings like this? Will polishing help? I have waited so long for this band and feel like it will be a very expensive additon to my junk drawer.

jbake

Brilliant_Rock
With the larger rounds sitting up higher than the smaller stones, I’d be afraid they wouldn’t be comfortable even after trying to soften the prongs. The two on the sides near your finger look like they’d be awfully poky.

Wewechew

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Can you return it and have the style custom made? I’m not a huge fan of Stuller and I don’t think their quality is good enough to ever get this design correct.

marymm

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Just as another opinion, I have several Stuller rings and they are high quality - however, the devil is in the details, so to speak, and besides actual choice of setting, the quality of a finished Stuller piece really is determined by the skill and care of the local jeweler.