carat
color
clarity

Study: sexual harassment of tipped employees, especially waitresses

Dancing Fire

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
What is sexual harassment?
If I said to the waitress " you are very beautiful" does this consider as sexual harassment? :confused:

ean

Shiny_Rock
It might not be harassment, but it’s sure creepy! Men have no idea how much of this shit women have to put up with all the time.

This has happened to me quite frequently (not to be a humble brag) specially when I worked in retail, and I find that most of them are just really nice genuine compliments, so I just smile and say thank you. People asking what time I get off work and what my plans are, is a TOTALLY different thing though. It’s all in the context. Not because someone from the opposite sex tells you they think you’re pretty, doesn’t mean they’re creepy or automatically hitting on you. Some compliments are just that… compliments.

Ofcourse it all depends on the body language and gestures too.

stracci2000

Ideal_Rock
Premium
When I was a cashier in the grocery store, I had to put up with this all the time. You cannot walk away and you are trapped in the check stand. It's uncomfortable and unsettling.
The same men keep coming to the establishment just to get in your line so they can say suggestive things to you. Or they think that complimenting you will somehow make you want them.
One man would always try to tell me a dirty joke. When I told him to stop, he acted all hurt.
Another regular customer used to walk up to all of the women in the store and say rude s*xual things to us. When I complained to the manager, he did nothing. When we heard that the man had died, I was relieved.
Sorry, not sorry.

m-cubed

Shiny_Rock