shape
carat
color
clarity

Should I buy this ring? (1.84 ct unheated, Burmese ruby, Art Deco ring)

Should I buy this ring?

• Yes, buy it

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, don't buy it

Votes: 25 100.0%

• Total voters

ahoward

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone ,

This is my first time posting but I'm picking out my own engagement ring and I'm hoping someone might be able to offer some advice. I've been looking for months already and this is the first ring I've come across in my price range that I actually like enough to consider buying. I'm specifically looking for a ruby or emerald antique or vintage ring (mostly in the Victorian to Art Deco time range). I like relatively simple rings with center stones that are longer than they are wide. I like solitaires or rings that have small, step cut side diamonds (other cuts are very sparkly for my taste). Ideally it would be yellow gold but that's not a deal breaker. One hard and fast requirement I have is that I don't want it to protrude off the finger very far. So, this brings me to this ring:

Art deco ruby ring.PNG

More photos, details, a certification, and a video are here: https://www.berganza.com/jewellery_ref_20243.html

The things I like about it are the darker color, that the side diamonds are baguettes, and that it has a very clean look. I also like the era. However, I have read on here that Berganza is over-priced. In the opinions of PSers, is this ring worth the hefty price tag or would I be overpaying because of the vendor? Also, is the stone too windowed? I probably tend to like a lot of shallow stones because I like low-profile rings, but I also have to do most of my looking online due to my relatively specific requirements, so I don't know that I've seen a windowed stone in person so far. I will have 7 days to return this ring if I end up not liking it when I see it in person.

Any advice that anyone has to offer would be greatly appreciated. I've never made a significant jewelry purchase before and don't want to mess up.