shape
carat
color
clarity

Should diamonds look different in different light?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Rockies

Rough_Rock
Hello! I am new to diamonds, so please excuse me if my question seems ignorant. I haven''t seen many diamonds in real life and, except for my ring, have never spent any time examining a diamond under different lighting conditions. My knowledge of how a diamond looks comes from magazine ads (sad, but true).
I''ve been reading the posts on this board and am learning a lot, and I''d love anyone with experience with diamonds to weigh in on this.

I have a 3.5 carat, H-color, very good cut, round diamond with blue fluorescence (not sure whether it''s strong, medium, etc). It''s set on a multi-row pave band. I love everything about this stunning ring, but have questions about how it looks in certain lighting conditions.

So, here''s what it does:
Indirect sunlight (for instance, if I shade it with my hand) - pure, glowing white and sparkly (but not blinding flashes)
Direct very bright sunlight - clear bluish-purple and seems to sparkle with more white and colored blinding flashes - The blue looks a lot like the ring shown on this page: http://www.pricescope.com/diamonds/x29034.htm The blue seems even more noticeable because it contrasts against the pave stones, which stay very white and sparkly as an overall effect.
Direct, less bright sunlight - looks more grey than blue, less blinding flashes
Grocery store light (diffused fluorescent lighting??) - my ring looks off the hook (!!). It sparkles like mad (not blinding flashes), with a barely noticeable bluish tint, and looks just as white as the pave stones. It''s so sparkly, it almost looks electric.