shape
carat
color
clarity

Sending 3.47 ct to Brian Gavin for a Recut

EliAdabela

Rough_Rock
I am new to Pricescope and this is my first post. I recently purchased a ring from a friend. She inherited it but is not the type to wear bling. I know little about diamonds but love them lots. When she told me she would sell it to me, I said I'd buy it on the spot. I really didn't even think about it. I just loved it from first sight. I got the stone, I was worried that I paid too much at $16,000. I didn't know the color, clarity or anything, only that I thought it was big and beautiful. When I received the ring, the paperwork said it was I color, and I1 clarity, good cut, 3.47 ct. The appraiser valued it in 2009, stone and platinum mounting for $22,000 for insurance purposes no doubt.No cert. I went to a local diamond buyer and he confirmed the color and clarity, said the cut would kill it if I sent it to GIA for a cert. He offered me $16,000 on the spot. Don't buyers pay 1/2 of the price we would pay to buy it retail or something like that? I was a little bit surprised. I went to another jeweler and he said the same about color and all. I had it sized to wear and told the jeweler I was sending it to Brian Gavin for a recut. He said don't send it anywhere, you will get ripped off basically and only do business with someone you know. He said it was sparkly enough. Well, I am still sending it to have BG take a look at it, but I am now afraid! Please tell me it will be o.k.! I hope my idea is a good one, possibly changing the cut quality to improve the stone. This ring is for my 20th anniversary, however that is not for 3 more years!!! LOL...I just got the gift early due to the circumstance. Don't think we would have ever looked at this size of a stone... Any thought from you experienced diamond folks????? Thanks. I also want to insure it first. Any recommedations??

TC1987

Brilliant_Rock