shape
carat
color
clarity

Selecting a HPD/CBI in person (w/pics and video comparison)

AstoriaSwan

Rough_Rock
First of all, I’m thankful for Pricescope and all of the posters who’ve provided so much insight. I’ve been reading for a few months, but these are my first posts. I’m a research analyst, and the considered and passionate discussions have been helpful.

Summary
After searching in high end B&M stores and online for branded “superideal” diamonds, my fiancée and I selected a Crafted by Infinity diamond after seeing 6 CBIs and an ACA in person at an appraiser’s office. Having the opportunity to view diamonds in real life (in live 3D, in/on our own hands, in different lighting conditions, etc.) was what helped us feel more confident in our decision, after starting with immensely helpful the specs, AGS reports, and imaging on the respective websites. We ended up choosing this 1.87 ct F SI1 CBI.
https://www.hpdiamonds.com/en-us/diamonddetail/HPD10112

After selecting the diamond, we worked with Layla at High Performance Diamond to create a beautiful 6-prong cathedral solitaire setting (called “Astoria”). I’ll post that separately in the Show Me The Bling forum with additional pictures.

We couldn’t be happier with the results. Throughout this process, I’ve been fortunate enough to speak with Wink, Layla, John Pollard, as well as Brian Gavin, representatives at Whiteflash and Miriam from PGS Laboratories (appraiser). Everyone was extremely helpful, professional and operated with honesty and integrity. We got a fantastic education in diamonds throughout this journey. For us, HPD/CBI was the choice. It’s been a pleasure working with them every step along the way.

Here are a few photos the ring.
IMG_0127.jpg IMG_0131.jpg

I have videos as well, but can't figure out how to load them onto the site directly. Can someone help a newbie out?

AstoriaSwan

Rough_Rock