shape
carat
color
clarity

%''s vs. angles in the HCA

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Googleman

Rough_Rock
I found a stone that I really like. However, when I plug it into the HCA the cut is not what I hoped it would be. I currently only have the %'s for the crown and pavilion instead of the angles.

I do understand that inputting angles gives you a more accurate rating than inputting %'s. Should I request the angles and input those and see what happens, or will any difference only be slight and therefore I should move on with my search?

Also, is it possible for a stone to not score as well on the HCA and still look spectacular????

NYSP

Rough_Rock
WHY NOT? If you like the stone than buy it. Just because the HCA does not give it the best number does not indicate a poor choice.
I'm far from an expert in this field, but you cannot use the HCA as the only factor in determining your choice.

pricescope

Ideal_Rock
Googleman, could you please post the %'s for the stone?

Rhino

Ideal_Rock
Trade
----------------
On 12/2/2002 8:05:56 PM

WHY NOT? If you like the stone than buy it. Just because the HCA does not give it the best number does not indicate a poor choice.
I'm far from an expert in this field, but you cannot use the HCA as the only factor in determining your choice.
----------------

There is truth to what you are saying and the HCA should not be the only factor but if all the information you can gather about the cut is limited to the HCA then if I were you I'd see to it that it was a nice score under 2.0 and as close to 1.0 as possible. While I have in past posts pointed out some of the weaknesses of the HCA, I would at this time emphasize the strengths of it to seperate the highly reflective, overall excellent brilliant stones from the duds.