shape
carat
color
clarity

Requesting help to decide between two very similar diamonds

mtruism

Rough_Rock
Wow, what a community you all have going here! I am a newbie looking for an engagement ring, and have found two stones so far at James Allen. They are currently being reviewed by their gemologist to give me some pointers, but I thought I would try to get some opinions on this board.

Diamond 1: http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.34-carat-h-color-vs2-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-246651
Diamond 2: http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/1.25-carat-h-color-vs2-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-259284

My primary question here is: Is Diamond 1 worth an extra $~1200 over Diamond 2? That increase represents ~13% increase in price.

Some more specific questions are:

- Diamond 2 has a few subtle inclusions (one directly on the table) that are visible in the online views... are these visible "in real life?" do they impact light performance?
- will Diamond 1 larger when set than Diamond 1?
- does the excellent polish rating of Diamond 2 look noticeably better than the v.good polish rating of Diamond 1?

Any other comments are certainly welcome. Thanks in advance!

-Mike

tyty333

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Re: Requesting help to decide between two very similar diamo

I prefer diamond 2 (1.25). Looks like a brighter stone and has more the typical numbers that I like. They are close enough
in size that once mounted you wouldn't really notice. The VS2 inclusions on the table are barely noticeable in the blown up
version. But...ask JA just to be sure (I'm CYAing here. I really cant imagine that they are visible.

mtruism

Rough_Rock

Thank you both for your responses. I got feedback from the JA gemologist basically stating that there is not much difference between the two and they both have excellent light performance and they both face up eye clean.