shape
carat
color
clarity

Replace sapphire in ring?

eapj

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Hello! I spend so much time reading the wonderful advice given on this board and am now looking for some of my own.

My husband picked up for me a second hand sapphire and diamond trilogy ring. The sapphire is not very good and is very dark (although I do prefer darker stones to lighter stones for sure). I’ve worn it for a few years and love the proportions, setting and diamonds but want a lighter sapphire stone.

I’ve looked at stones on the websites of many preferred vendors. Drool! What’s the easiest way to get the sapphire replaced? I am a newbie and am not looking for heirloom quality, just a nice looking stone. I’m not concerned about the technical specifications as long as it looks pretty. Sometimes I wear this as an engagement ring and sometimes as a RHR.

Suggestions of vendors where I could ship my ring, they’d point me to stones that would fit in the setting, and have them set it? And for a reasonable price? Is that even a thing? I would stress about ordering the right size to fit the setting, etc. if I ordered a loose stone and then had to get it set.

Pics just to share size. I was told the sapphire was round about two carats (ring size 4.5) but haven’t measured in millimeters. Both pictures are terrible. It’s a decent size stone but not looking to spend thousands. All reasons I want a professional to work with on this.

Thanks for another advice you may care to share!

6750529C-DFE6-4B45-B3BE-3EF48FA7E283.jpeg D6FEDC68-FE80-4B3E-8105-593AFF17437C.jpeg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Go to your local jeweller to get the stone measured. You’ll want to know the dimensions in mm for length and width. Then we can estimate the carat weight and what it might cost. From there, you can decide whether you are willing to spend that much.

eapj

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
Thanks @chrono. I’ll do that and report back.

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I’m guessing it’s an 8 x 6 mm oval.