shape
carat
color
clarity

Received this 1.5 ct HPHT Emerald. Is it acceptable / good or garbage?

Cobra99

Rough_Rock
Hello community,

I just received this 1.50 carat Emerald cut lab diamond which is a D color, VVS2, excellent polish, excellent symmetry with no fluorescence. It is graded by GIA (see report attached). Now I really don't know if I should keep it or look for something better. I am a bit surprised that in real live this stone has quite a lot of blue tinge and reflections and also yellowish reflections, especially under indoor light...

See here a video under daylight:

Here under indoor light:

Here a 360 close up from the supplier: https://ssdweb.co/ssdweb/hd/Vision360.html?d=923760360&zoomslide=1&z=923760360&ISCONFIRM=0

I really appreciate your opinion and advise!

Attachments

• GIA_report_EMERALD_v1.pdf
    354.5 KB · Views: 25

momofive

Brilliant_Rock
I'm not an expert, but I am in the process of getting a lab EC, so I've been looking at them for the past few months.
I don't see any flashes or sparkle, but you really should get a stone holder and angle the stone side to side. You just moved the camera back and forth. You need to "roll" the stone side to side.

Anyway, I'm sure the experts will chime in soon, but that is my take.

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I'm not an expert, but I am in the process of getting a lab EC, so I've been looking at them for the past few months.
I don't see any flashes or sparkle, but you really should get a stone holder and angle the stone side to side. You just moved the camera back and forth. You need to "roll" the stone side to side.

Anyway, I'm sure the experts will chime in soon, but that is my take.

Agreed
It's impossible to tell from those videos

momofive

Brilliant_Rock
And do it in different lighting situations. Sun, shade, incandescent, bathroom.

momofive

Brilliant_Rock