shape
carat
color
clarity

Questions About Going Back to School

shihtzulover

Brilliant_Rock
I have decided that I would like to go back to school for something totally different than what I do now. I just don't like this field as much as I thought I would.

I want to get a master's degree in a totally different field than what I got my bachelor's degree in. I will have to take extra classes before being accepted to graduate school, right?

Also, I am a bit confused about the three letters of recommendation requirement. I do not feel comfortable asking my current employer, - I would be leaving to go back to school full-time, and for something totally different. Also, at this point, I doubt that any of my undergraduate professors would remember me.

purselover

Ideal_Rock
Good for you for making this decision I know it can be a bit scary as I just did the same thing myself! For some of the schools I looked at I didn't meet all the undergrad prerequisites (having studied something completely different) so upon acceptance I would have had to take a few undergrad classes my first semester to make up for it. Fortunately for the school I ended up going to I met all the requirements and didn't have to do this. For recommendations I decided to use my latest employers (we were all laid off together so we still had a great relationship and they understood why I was changing fields.) The schools I looked at all said if you had been out of undergrad for a few years professional references were perfectly acceptable. Do you have a former employer you could ask so it's not awkward asking your current one? Otherwise I would go back and ask one of your old professors you might be surprised just how well they remember you!

Good luck with your applications, and may I ask what fields you are leaving and looking to get into?

dragonfly411

Ideal_Rock