shape
carat
color
clarity

Purchasing loose diamond - Questions about the process

Hi all,

**Accidentally posted in "diamond research" section, so I'm re-posting it here, which I've been told is the more appropriate forum. Thanks!**

Very excited to have discovered this online community. Anyway, I'm just getting started with this process, and figured I'd let you guys know my thoughts and see if anyone has any recommendations or advice about how best to proceed. From having incessantly scoured the internet over the last few days, it seems to me that buyers will get the most bang for their buck by purchasing loose stones or complete diamond rings online, as opposed to from local wholesalers/retailers. My tentative plan is to purchase a loose stone online, and then have it appraised and set by a local jeweler I can rely on throughout the future for cleaning and to make necessary repairs.

Just a heads up - Because I'm hell-bent on the element of surprise, I have not discussed diamond shape or ring setting with my girlfriend and don't plan on doing so. I will seek advice from her sister/best friend, but figured I'd solicit thoughts from the PriceScope community so that I'm as knowledgeable as possible before doing so.

- What I'm looking for - It seems as though round and princess cut diamonds are the default, so I'll probably go with one of these. As I said, my intention is to purchase a loose stone online and have it set locally. The minimum specifications I'm looking for are excellent cut, H color and VS2 visibility. I would like to purchase a ring in the 1.7-1.8 carat range. I want this to be a high quality diamond, but since size is somewhat significant, I want to be sure that I'm not spending unnecessarily on characteristics that may not be of the utmost importance. For example, I've been told that VS2 imperfections can never be detected without a microscope.