shape
carat
color
clarity

Purchasing from Sri Lanka

sapphirehunteruk

Rough_Rock
F6468882-48B6-4019-B46C-31C204BA79D9.jpeg 07106F15-C5EE-4C78-81BE-2CF61699611F.png Hello! I’m new to this family, but have spent the past week scouring the site for information on buying sapphires direct from Sri Lanka. Please redirect me if there’s already a thread on this, but the best I’ve found has been on recognized wholesalers rather than local shops.

I’m looking to buy a pastel/ light cornflower blue sapphire around 3-4 carats. I’ve been able to track down some beauties for around $2,500-3,000 USD from Sri Lankan sources that have online recognition, but want to make sure that I follow a good procedure for getting the gems to make sure they’re not fake or switched out for fake/ synthetic ones if they’re listed as being certified.

So, what procedure do you all follow when buying gems from a foreign source? Is it possible to pay for certification and shipping to your certifying body of choice, then transfer them the funds upon certification, and have the certifying body send you the gems directly?

Really looking forward to your advice and to being a part of this community. Thanks!

IcePhoenix

Shiny_Rock
I don't know about buying from Instagram, the colour looks a bit pale for a cornflower IMO but if you like it go for it. Ask the seller if the stone is windowed as it may affect brilliance. For 3k I would get a top certificate like AGL or GRS (consider paying for having the origin on the certificate as it will more likely than not affect the value of the stone) I don't know what kind of certificate it has.
Pay with PayPal as it is the safest way

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I definitely wouldn't buy that stone. It is pale and grey-ish, and has a huge window. I like some of the stuff from that vendor, just not that stone.

sapphirehunteruk

Rough_Rock