Find your diamond
Find your jewelry
shape
carat
color
clarity
  • Pricescope Upgrade/Maintenance Is Complete.

    We still have a few things to iron out. If you see any bugs, issues or have any concerns, let us know here in this discussion.

Provence Gems... I am so frustrated. Help!

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
I was looking for a few new pieces for myself and didn’t want to spend a huge amount of money but still wanted something nice and made in at least 14k gold. I looked around and saw many posts and reviews about Provence gems and the photos of the jewerly looked well made and so I decided to take a leap and order a pair of OEC earrings. To make a long story short, the earrings were pretty bad, the cut wasn’t good and they were too heavy and just really disappointing. I reached out to the woman I have been working with named Flora and she suggested I send them back and they could fix them, I asked for hearts and arrows instead of the OEC and she said fine, I thought a more standard cut might just be easier. I sent them back ( I paid for the shipping, around 50 dollars and waited). In the meanwhile, I foolishly had already placed an order for a bracelet and a band. I went back and forth with Flora in regards to what I needed and wanted and she promised me to personally check on all of the pieces before they went out and after waiting a very long time I received my stuff. I cannot even begin to describe how disappointed I am. All three are a mess. I can’t wear any of them. The bracelet was supposed to be a size 6.5 and it’s a solid 7 inches, the safety clasps are shoddy and don’t work and all you have to do it gently tug and it comes apart. The round stones in the band are grey looking and stand out in a bad way and the earrings, dear god, what a mess. I didn’t want to spend a huge amount of money but I still ended up spending a decent amount for all three and to say the quality isn’t good is an understatement. I have seen other work they have done and it’s been nice so I don’t know what happened. I am now in a position where I want my money back. I do not trust they can fix this since it they couldn’t deliver what was promised and when I brought up my disappointment to Flora she tried to tell me I was mistaken and now ignoring me. The earrings I sent back came back worse off and now I do not trust they can fix something, not to mention the expensive shipping. I am unsure of what my next step is though now, especially since I am being ignored. Any thoughts would be great appreciated. I feel so stupid for ordering three pieces at once without ever using this company before. I will try to add photos, I am rarely good at that part, haha. Thanks. Did I mention how disappointed I am? Ugh.
 

lovedogs

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
9,364
Did you use PayPal? File a dispute. Or cc company chargeback. I'm so sorry :(

Can we see pics?
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
Thank you for responding. I paid for more than half with PayPal so that may work, I certainly hope so! I have all of the WhatsApp messages documenting what I was asking for and what I was promised I would receive. I also have my messages reaching out with my concerns and and the ones where Flora tried to make excuses for all of it and then the radio silence that occurred. I am very disappointed. Ugh, ok, here are some photos.
Here is the one where you can see the bracelet is the wrong size, it was supposed to be a 6.5 and it is clearly a 7. Also, you can see the safety clasps aren’t working and you can’t see it but even the slightest tug opens the bracelet, it has zero resistance.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
5A3A1926-CEE2-4CDA-9F1F-D1205BC77DB7.png A1FC74D7-3D66-434C-80DE-BABBE2704FB0.jpeg Here are the earrings, it looks like the setting is too small! I asked for earrings that were low to my ear and was promised these would be. Also, the first pair I returned had cheap tiny backings and so I asked for a pair of decent ones with these new and improved earrings and that didn’t happen.
So after showing photos and going back and forth and confirming with the CADS that the earrings would be low set I received these which are nothing like the photo I sent or the CAD that was made.
 

Attachments

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
Also, don’t forget these are the new and improved earrings. It’s just awful. There is a wonky band as well but I think you get the idea.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
00836A4A-3A02-4BE9-BE43-4DB32A6BB1B3.jpeg 20DC2722-4923-4712-B4FC-7EC462B89CB8.png
Oh and I guess I will just share the band while I am at it. I saw a photo and mentioned the round stones looking off before it was shipped and was told it was changed but it wasn’t. I don’t know what happened over there but clearly something isn’t right!!
 

lovedogs

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Joined
Jul 31, 2014
Messages
9,364
Can we see the cads for the earrings? The settings are odd and it looks like the "basket" is way too deep, which I suspect is partially why they are falling forward on your ears.

The round stones in the ring clearly look grey. I would have seen your pic and assumed you asked for grey moissy. So that's obviously an issue.

I've never seen how a bracelet is supposed to clasp, so can't speak to that. But if the safety thing doesn't work then it's going to fall off, which is a huge issue.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
Thank you for taking a look and responding. I don’t want to be a difficult person but none of these are something I can wear and with the fact that Flora has completely frozen me out and is not responding it’s alarming. Oh regarding the bracelet, not only are the safety clasps not working and it comes apart with almost zero pressure so if I wore it it would surely fall off, it’s huge, it’s way too big for my wrist and it’s clearly a 7 inch bracelet when I was promised 6.5- the safety clasps I could probably get fixed here for not too much ( maybe, I am assuming) but to fix the size it would mean a substantial amount of work and money to be able to safely wear it. Ugh! Ok, here are the CADS for the earrings, which look nice which is why I ok’d them.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
So here is the original CAD where I mentioned I was concerned about the prongs and the stones, the stones ended up being really hazy and not clear so I returned them and then I received the ones I posted above as my replacement and new and improved set
 

swaye2010

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
885
I just don’t watch the Provence thread that often because I haven’t ordered from them. This is what the SG CAD’s look like for this stone size. Longer back’s and they can fit snug to the ear. As @lovedogs said, it is an unusual design just from a support standpoint. I like the idea of a 1 carat stone but they are deep/heavier and have to be as flush sitting and tight as possible or they will always droop forward. Make sure you document in your PP case all the measurements, your costs for return fixing, estimate for a repairs from US jeweler etc. There are ways to win a PP case but you need to make sure you do it right so that they don’t say no refunds on a custom order. The wording is important. It says that ‘significantly deviates’ from what was ordered and once they deny it, it might be harder to appeal. Your CC hopefully is another option if tied to your PP account, which I always recommend. I would research the wording on how other’s have also won cases. You should be able to add to it online and if you can’t, I would call them before they can rule unfavorably.

AED07E15-8CBC-4AAA-824E-C00D5AAF9754.jpeg
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
I just don’t watch the Provence thread that often because I haven’t ordered from them. This is what the SG CAD’s look like for this stone size. Longer back’s and they can fit snug to the ear. As @lovedogs said, it is an unusual design just from a support standpoint. I like the idea of a 1 carat stone but they are deep/heavier and have to be as flush sitting and tight as possible or they will always droop forward. Make sure you document in your PP case all the measurements, your costs for return fixing, estimate for a repairs from US jeweler etc. There are ways to win a PP case but you need to make sure you do it right so that they don’t say no refunds on a custom order. The wording is important. It says that ‘significantly deviates’ from what was ordered and once they deny it, it might be harder to appeal. Your CC hopefully is another option if tied to your PP account, which I always recommend. I would research the wording on how other’s have also won cases. You should be able to add to it online and if you can’t, I would call them before they can rule unfavorably.

AED07E15-8CBC-4AAA-824E-C00D5AAF9754.jpeg

Thank you so much, that is very good advice. What a mess. What’s so crazy is I know people who have ordered from them and the work was good. Anyway, thanks again!
 

lindam1503

Rough_Rock
Joined
Dec 17, 2018
Messages
68
I was looking for a few new pieces for myself and didn’t want to spend a huge amount of money but still wanted something nice and made in at least 14k gold. I looked around and saw many posts and reviews about Provence gems and the photos of the jewerly looked well made and so I decided to take a leap and order a pair of OEC earrings. To make a long story short, the earrings were pretty bad, the cut wasn’t good and they were too heavy and just really disappointing. I reached out to the woman I have been working with named Flora and she suggested I send them back and they could fix them, I asked for hearts and arrows instead of the OEC and she said fine, I thought a more standard cut might just be easier. I sent them back ( I paid for the shipping, around 50 dollars and waited). In the meanwhile, I foolishly had already placed an order for a bracelet and a band. I went back and forth with Flora in regards to what I needed and wanted and she promised me to personally check on all of the pieces before they went out and after waiting a very long time I received my stuff. I cannot even begin to describe how disappointed I am. All three are a mess. I can’t wear any of them. The bracelet was supposed to be a size 6.5 and it’s a solid 7 inches, the safety clasps are shoddy and don’t work and all you have to do it gently tug and it comes apart. The round stones in the band are grey looking and stand out in a bad way and the earrings, dear god, what a mess. I didn’t want to spend a huge amount of money but I still ended up spending a decent amount for all three and to say the quality isn’t good is an understatement. I have seen other work they have done and it’s been nice so I don’t know what happened. I am now in a position where I want my money back. I do not trust they can fix this since it they couldn’t deliver what was promised and when I brought up my disappointment to Flora she tried to tell me I was mistaken and now ignoring me. The earrings I sent back came back worse off and now I do not trust they can fix something, not to mention the expensive shipping. I am unsure of what my next step is though now, especially since I am being ignored. Any thoughts would be great appreciated. I feel so stupid for ordering three pieces at once without ever using this company before. I will try to add photos, I am rarely good at that part, haha. Thanks. Did I mention how disappointed I am? Ugh.
I am so sorry this happened to you, and I just read through the posts that followed, so I hope you'll follow the advice you've been given with respect to attempting to get your money back via Paypal and perhaps through your credit card company.

It takes courage to post a negative review, but I think it is important.

It may be small consolation to you, but it does help others for you to have shared your experience. Your photos are most helpful.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
I am so sorry this happened to you, and I just read through the posts that followed, so I hope you'll follow the advice you've been given with respect to attempting to get your money back via Paypal and perhaps through your credit card company.

It takes courage to post a negative review, but I think it is important.

It may be small consolation to you, but it does help others for you to have shared your experience. Your photos are most helpful.
Oh, thank you so very much for saying that. I think I am a fair person and I can honestly say Provence Gem has done some good work, I have seen it and it’s what encouraged me to go with them. I am just shocked that after the bad PR they are getting they would send my stuff out like that, even after I asked several times to please double check , etc etc.. it is what it is, I hope Flora will respond with something decent as far as a way of rectifying this, and if she does, I will happily post that as well. I just feel it’s important as well to share my experience, it hasn’t been a good one, I spent a lot of money and haven’t been treated well at all and can’t wear one of the three pieces I ordered and I am being ignored currently. Ugh.
Anyway, thanks again, more will be revealed quickly I hope!!!
 

swaye2010

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
885
Oh, thank you so very much for saying that. I think I am a fair person and I can honestly say Provence Gem has done some good work, I have seen it and it’s what encouraged me to go with them. I am just shocked that after the bad PR they are getting they would send my stuff out like that, even after I asked several times to please double check , etc etc.. it is what it is, I hope Flora will respond with something decent as far as a way of rectifying this, and if she does, I will happily post that as well. I just feel it’s important as well to share my experience, it hasn’t been a good one, I spent a lot of money and haven’t been treated well at all and can’t wear one of the three pieces I ordered and I am being ignored currently. Ugh.
Anyway, thanks again, more will be revealed quickly I hope!!!
The person that has the most experience with Flora is on reddit and WB. Are you on either one of these? Maybe she can help with the ‘ghosting’. Sometimes I think the sale people have very little say over what happens in the factory since they are in different buildings and then they don’t know how to deal with it other than just stop responding. Not excusing her behavior but it seems to be a problem across the board sometimes when the work is bad from any of these companies. If you have an account with either of the other two I mentioned, she goes by pinky58.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
The person that has the most experience with Flora is on reddit and WB. Are you on either one of these? Maybe she can help with the ‘ghosting’. Sometimes I think the sale people have very little say over what happens in the factory since they are in different buildings and then they don’t know how to deal with it other than just stop responding. Not excusing her behavior but it seems to be a problem across the board sometimes when the work is bad from any of these companies. If you have an account with either of the other two I mentioned, she goes by pinky58.
Thank you very much! I do agree with you and again, it’s not excuse but it does explain it which helps me keep from personalizing it, plus, it’s a very different culture.
I was on reddit before and will go back again, thank you for that! By the way, what is “WB”?
 

swaye2010

Brilliant_Rock
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
885
Thank you very much! I do agree with you and again, it’s not excuse but it does explain it which helps me keep from personalizing it, plus, it’s a very different culture.
I was on reddit before and will go back again, thank you for that! By the way, what is “WB”?
That is weddingbee. I would just send her a PM so you can explain it more directly on either one.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
That is weddingbee. I would just send her a PM so you can explain it more directly on either one.[/QUOTE
And yes to the PM, I feel so overexposed already but it’s been so nice to get some great direction and support so, thank you again!
 

Lessics

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
171
I didn't read all posts. But with these oversea vendors it is a bit you get what you pay for. And I really understand your frustration, but ordering overseas from a factory that pays very low wages and definitley doesn't have the same quality control as a jeweler in the US you have to go into the transaction with lower expectations. If they could bring you top quality pieces they would be selling them at a higher price.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
I didn't read all posts. But with these oversea vendors it is a bit you get what you pay for. And I really understand your frustration, but ordering overseas from a factory that pays very low wages and definitley doesn't have the same quality control as a jeweler in the US you have to go into the transaction with lower expectations. If they could bring you top quality pieces they would be selling them at a higher price.
Yes, there is definitely some truth to that but if you had read all the posts you would see where I know several people who had received really nice jewelry from them and they produced what was promised and they are very happy to this day with what they got. I also paid a decent amount, none of it was cheap so those are a few reasons why I am frustrated and disappointed. I certainly don’t expect it to be the same as some of my high end pieces but I did expect them to do what they vehemently promised, like get the size of the bracelet correct or have the stones all be the same color but I do get what you are saying and agree, won’t be doing this again, that’s for sure. Thank you for your thoughts and time.
 
Last edited:

NoraAnn

Rough_Rock
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
7
Yes, there is definitely some truth to that but if you had read all the posts you would see where I know several people who had received really nice jewelry from them and they produced what was promised and they are very happy to this day with what they got. I also paid a decent amount, none of it was cheap so those are a few reasons why I am frustrated and disappointed. I certainly don’t expect it to be the same as some of my high end pieces but I did expect them to do what they vehemently promised, like get the size of the bracelet correct or have the stones all be the same color but I do get what you are saying and agree, won’t be doing this again, that’s for sure. Thank you for your thoughts and time.
You have every right to be upset. I too assumed you were being picky until I saw the photos you posted of the ring... I'm 100% okay with the negative reviews they have been getting if their quality control is this low.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
You have every right to be upset. I too assumed you were being picky until I saw the photos you posted of the ring... I'm 100% okay with the negative reviews they have been getting if their quality control is this low.
Thank you for sharing that! I apppreciare it.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
The person that has the most experience with Flora is on reddit and WB. Are you on either one of these? Maybe she can help with the ‘ghosting’. Sometimes I think the sale people have very little say over what happens in the factory since they are in different buildings and then they don’t know how to deal with it other than just stop responding. Not excusing her behavior but it seems to be a problem across the board sometimes when the work is bad from any of these companies. If you have an account with either of the other two I mentioned, she goes by pinky58.
Thank you for your help here and support. I just want this to be better, I don’t have a lot of extra money to pay to get these pieces fixed, at least not for a while so I am hoping something can be done. Thanks again and I wanted to share that I reached out to Pinky58 right now. Have a good night.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
I wanted to say that Flora finally responded to me, she said she is sick and in the hospital. I have no reason to not believe her, she always responded right away which is why I was so horrified when she disappeared. I know she saw the messages but didn’t get back to me until tonight to let me know. I hope she feels better and I hope this can resolved. More will be revealed. I did want to let you all know she did respond, I like to share the good and the bad. Fingers crossed.
 

lindam1503

Rough_Rock
Joined
Dec 17, 2018
Messages
68
I wanted to say that Flora finally responded to me, she said she is sick and in the hospital. I have no reason to not believe her, she always responded right away which is why I was so horrified when she disappeared. I know she saw the messages but didn’t get back to me until tonight to let me know. I hope she feels better and I hope this can resolved. More will be revealed. I did want to let you all know she did respond, I like to share the good and the bad. Fingers crossed.
Oh my. Thank you for letting us know. There is a sub on Reddit where it would be helpful for others to see this, as I'm pretty sure she is the main rep for Provence.
 

Ladybug1

Shiny_Rock
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
267
Oh my. Thank you for letting us know. There is a sub on Reddit where it would be helpful for others to see this, as I'm pretty sure she is the main rep for Provence.

Oh of course, I thought it was important to share! I am not on Reddit though, but I will try to join later today after work.
 
Be a part of the community It's free, join today!

Need Something Special?

Get a quote from multiple trusted and vetted jewelers.

Holloway Cut Advisor



Diamond Eye Candy

Click to view full-size image.
Top