shape
carat
color
clarity

Problem with Jeweler - what should I do

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Zola

Rough_Rock
When my ring was purchased about 6 years ago, it was sent back an additional two times due to the prongs being set incorrectly. Since then, the ring has gone through three upgrades with each time being sent an average of 2 times due to poor workmanship on the jewler when setiting the ring in the new prongs. I recently sent my ring into the jeweler to set a scratch removed and to have the prongs changed to "V" prongs which I had been comtemplating for several years and decided to do at the same time. Due to the on-going dis-satisfaction with the jeweler, I met with the new manager of this retail jewelry store to specify my concerns and history with their jewlers in the past. This manager set up a one-on-one consultation with their jeweler whom I met with and specified how I would like the prongs set (even heads, symetry, etc.). After meeting with the manager and jeweler, I was confident that the problem was solved.

Unfortunately, when I picked up my ring, all the prongs on the head were different sizes, nor were two of them "flush" with the diamond. The prongs going up to the diamond weren''t straight and one of them isn''t even a "v", but a blob of metal. The scratch I requested to be buffed out was, but then a new scratch in a different location was created. Several of the prongs leading up the diamond are severly scratched with the visible eye and slightly wavy. To top it off, the band is smaller. I thought it was just me because sometimes, my finger gets "fatter" at night vs. in morning, but I tried it on again this morning and it''s still difficult to put on.