carat
color
clarity

Please help select 2 ct. diamond.

ragrave

Rough_Rock
Premium
Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I plan to purpose my girlfriend soon but can't find the diamond yet.
I am looking for 2-2.5 carat round diamond, excellent/ideal cut, VS2, H or I color.
My prince range is between 20,000-25,000. I found two diamonds that might be good

http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/2.20-carat-h-color-vs1-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-583946
Total Visual Performance0.7 - Excellent within TIC range

http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/round-cut/2.03-carat-g-color-vs2-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-541450
Total Visual Performance2.8 - Very Good - Worth buying if the price is right

I think the first one is better. Also my local Kay jewelry outlet told me that they will have promotion for next week: every $1000 I spend, I get $300 gift card. However, their diamonds are so expensive. http://design.kayoutlet-diamonds.com/loose-diamonds-search
Last time I talked to them, they offered me about 20-25% from the price shown in the link above.
The similar diamonds to JameAllens's are cost about $40,000 at Kay Jewerly.
Let assume that I can negotiate it down to $32,000 plus $9,600 gift card. Is it worth it to spend extra for their warranty? I read the review and did not see any good thing about their warranty.

Which way do you recommend?

UrsTx

Brilliant_Rock
I echo sugarski's comment about not buying from Kay. As you've discovered by price comparing with James Allen, you're overpaying when you don't have to.

I like the first JA diamond you listed, the H color with faint fluorescence. I think you should call them to research it more if you're interested. JA also has a great 30-day, 100% refund, free shipping return policy if you don't like it. I also like that they offer GIA and AGS certified stones. I'm not sure what you were looking at at Kay's but I know they use GSI (and GIA but for a higher price).