shape
carat
color
clarity

Phily jewelers'' row - Is the price right?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

tmahajan

Rough_Rock
I am a newbie in diamond searching. Yesterday, I went to Philadelphia''s jewelers'' row, to Barsky Diamonds store based on some reviews on Pricescope. This was the first time I was looking at diamonds (though I have done some research before hand online). I found a diamond with following specs that was very beautiful:

- 1.5 ct
- SI1
- I/J color
- excellent cut
- GIA certified
- vg polish & symmetry

for $6900.

The salesperson said he was giving us a deal on the price, and then he showed us the rapaport report, where his quote was lower than the wholesale.

My questions are:
1) How is the reputation of Barsky store?
2) Is this the usual price range for this quality of diamond? Is it higher or lower than what it should cost?
3) Should I be checking other diamond attributes? What important attributes am I missing?
4) I really like this stone and the service at the store was great, so I just wanted to go ahead and purchase it. Should I look around some more before I make the decision...or does this deal sound reasonable and honest?
5) How/ when should I get the stone appraised?

Please help...

Thanks,
Trisha

Lorelei

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Welcome!

There are some Philly PSers that might have had experience with this jeweller. What we need to know are the proportions of the diamond in order to help you judge if it is well cut, we need the -

depth%
table%
crown and pavilion angles
girdle thickness
diameter measurements