shape
carat
color
clarity

Paraiba Tourmaline Opinion & Advice

OldTownChi

Rough_Rock
Hello all,
Just want to say thank you for this great forum. I have been scouring it for as much information and pictures I can find for a couple months now and it's been very helpful.

I wanted to see if I could get some opinions on the paraiba. I'm not a really a gem hobbyist, just looking for something to turn into an engagement ring. I'm trying to find a very high quality paraiba and am willing to go smaller in carat size for better quality. Anyways after searching and searching, I feel this one has pretty good color and clarity, albeit with many inclusions.

Please let me know where you think this lands in quality scale. Based on limited supply is it possible to find anything much better in the .75 to 1.25 ct scale?

Thanks in advance!

paraiba_16.jpg

paraiba_17.jpg

paraiba_18.jpg

paraiba_21.jpg

elle_71125

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I'm no expert so I'm not going to chime in about that gem. This is definitely a gem you would have to baby so keep that in mind.

What's your budget? There's nothing better than spending someone else's money (especially when I'm trying to behave) :naughty: .
Have you checked out paraiba international? He has some gorgeous pieces.

OldTownChi

Rough_Rock
Is it all the inclusions that make you say this one would have to be babied?

I am concerned with durability of paraibas in general and have debated considering a whole different stone because of that. She's a big fan of Tsavorite Garnets, but obviously the Paraiba color is tops.

I was hoping to stay in the $5k range, which I'm not sure is enough to consider a paraiba. I could maybe stretch a little for the right one. If anybody knows of any good dealers of paraibas out there I am open to recommendations

elle_71125

Ideal_Rock
Premium