shape
carat
color
clarity

Paraiba Tourmaline Engagement Ring

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jzauls

Rough_Rock
First off, I would like to say this is a great forum. I have been looking for something like this for a while. I am not a gem expert, only a boyfriend trying to pick out an engagement ring. Any help, and I mean any help is greatly appreciated.

I have somehow become fixated on a gemstone center stone for an engagement ring. And I do believe that she would love it (though, I will confirm). Anyway...

While investigating gemstones, I stumbled upon Paraiba Tourlamine. I fell in love with it first glance. I knew this is the gemstone I wanted. I have been in contact with paraibainternational.com and they have been very helpful. However, because paraiba rings are so rare, I was hoping to hear from some of you who have experience.

Questions:

1) Will Paraiba make a nice centerstone ring-with or without diamond accents. Because of the price, I was hoping that it could stand alone, with minimal need for adjuvant stones.

2) I know the Mohs scale is 7.5, but just how "careful" is being careful? The representative told me no dishwashing, showers, working out with the ring on. Is this true? Can she wear it daily, as long as she is careful, or will it be too much of a nuisance for daily wear.

3) Do you think it is possible to do a tension setting? Or would the halo setting be appropriate?

4) Obviously brilliance variable from stone to stone. However, is a top quality stone truly a brilliant as brilliant as a diamond or less so?

Sorry if these questions seem basic. However, I cannot find much in the way of Paraiba Tourlamines on line. Rare stone = Rarer Information.

Cheers,

Jason

Richard Sherwood

Ideal_Rock
Date: 2/9/2006 10:52:55 PM
Author:jzauls