shape
carat
color
clarity

Opinions on this diamond?

Discussion in 'RockyTalky' started by LauraJandLudlow, Sep 10, 2019 at 5:15 PM.

1. LauraJandLudlow
    Rough_Rock

by LauraJandLudlow » Sep 10, 2019 at 5:15 PM
    Hi everyone, I'm new to Pricescope and looking for opinions on a diamond I'm thinking of purchasing. The specs are as follows:

Lab: GIA
    Shape: Round Brilliant
    Measurements: 9.48 - 9.57 x 5.99 mm
    Carats: 3.4
    Color: J
    Clarity: VS
    Cut: Excellent
    Polish: Excellent
    Symmetry: Excellent
    Fluorescence: Strong Blue

A photo of the proportions is below. Is this a good diamond? I previously had an AGS000 and am a little nervous about the GIA XXX rating since I know it can be less stringent. Thank you for any and all insight!!!

upload_2019-9-10_17-15-25.png

2. mwilliamanderson
    Shiny_Rock

by mwilliamanderson » Sep 10, 2019 at 5:31 PM
    The angles are complementary, but it’ a bit over the recommended depth percentage. If you can tell us your budget, color and clarity preferences people will be happy to make some recommendations. Are you wanting SBF?

3. LauraJandLudlow
    Rough_Rock

by LauraJandLudlow » Sep 10, 2019 at 5:38 PM
    Thanks for the input, mwilliamanderson. My budget is approximately $36k. In terms of color/clarity, I don't want to go below a J/VS2. My last diamond was an SI1 and I found my eyes going straight to the inclusion as time passed. This VS2 has one crystal inclusion under the table which I was able to see with a microscope, but not with the naked eye. Its other inclusion is next to the girdle and is invisible to me both with and without a microscope.

The fluorescence is not preferable to me, but I examined the diamond in person in both artificial and natural light and didn't find it to be particularly bothersome (I was concerned about the milky/oily effect some people describe with strong fluorescence.) Thank you!

4. lovedogs
    Ideal_Rock

by lovedogs » Sep 10, 2019 at 5:41 PM