shape
carat
color
clarity

Noob Sapphire Fever; Tell me about this stone?

SweetAsscher

Shiny_Rock
I know absolutely nothing about sapphires. But I want one!
I've been trying to read up on them and learn, but it's a little hard applying it practically vs theory when I have no hands on experience looking at stones.
I came across this one but have no idea of the value. All I know is that it's 2.05 carats. I have not seen it in person. Pics below.
What do you guys think of it?
Is the color good?
Is the cut very bad?
I realize I have not given much information to work with but hopefully someone can help me even a little.
Thanks! :wavey:

Screen shot 2012-02-29 at 7.02.37 PM.png

Screen shot 2012-02-29 at 7.02.28 PM.png

Screen shot 2012-02-29 at 7.02.17 PM.png

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Colour is all right; has some violet in it but is also a bit gray.
Cut is decent. It has a small window which is less apparent because of the setting. I wonder if it's just the picture (camera shadow) but the lower half of the stone seems quite a bit darker than the upper half.

Any idea what sort of treatment the sapphire has undergone?

SweetAsscher

Shiny_Rock
I see what you mean about the grey, and I think I kind of like the violet.
No idea on heat treatment.
I would scrap the setting and reset in something else.
The vendor's photos are usually very accurate although I will agree with you on the camera obstruction. They tend to take the photos from very close and sometimes you can see the reflection of the camera on the jewelry piece.
The price is currently asking about $700. Is that way too much for this color and if it is heat treated?

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Very dark, extinct and grey. Not a big fan of that stone.

slksapphire

Shiny_Rock
hi there,