shape
carat
color
clarity

Noob in buying an engagement ring, help needed

kevindd992002

Rough_Rock
So I'm trying to find for an engagement ring here in the Philippines and have a relative that sources these. I have maybe close to a $4000 budget (up to $4500 if the price is a steal) and aiming for a bit under or over a 1 carat round diamond. I'm new to this and I've been researching for a couple of weeks now. From my research, I concluded that these are the lowest ratings that I need to go for:

Shape - Round
Color - J
Clarity - VS2
Cut - Excellent
Table - 53 to 58%
Depth - 59 to 62.3%

1. Are those the only specs that I need to be aware of? Or is this cheat sheet a better one to follow?
2. Prices here in the Philippines tend to be very expensive so I'm open to buying internationally where it's cheaper. Would buying in Israel Diamonds be cheaper compared to say buying from B2CJewels? Both of them ship to the Philippines. For a $4000 loose diamond, Israel Diamonds quoted only $39 for shipping while B2CJewels was around $130, so there's that. I also have to factor the import tax that I'll be paying if I decided to import this.
3. Is AGS generally better than GIA even though GIA looks like the standard certification entity for the most part?

Thanks for the help in advance! This diamond hunting process is not an easy task, especially for beginners.

sledge

Ideal_Rock
Premium
1. You have to consider all the diamond proportions, not just a select few. Also, not only the individual values but how they compliment with one another.

2. Buying a diamond is a big deal. Getting from a trusted vendor with a good reputation, good trade policy and well respected for their attention to quality cut stones & good customer service would all be a factor for me. All that is easily worth an extra $100 in shipping.