shape
carat
color
clarity

New To Forum - Searching for EC

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

lincoln0471

Rough_Rock
Hi,

Similar to a few others who have posted here, I, too, am searching for an EC for a ring. I am not in a hurry. I have little to no diamond knowledge yet, but I am using this forum to educate myself about selection criteria. My first question covers the broad topic of shopping online versus real-site store front. How does one go about selecting a diamond online? I read the various posts of potential buyers/respondants and it seems that is is common practice for what appears to be different vendors such as WF, ROC that peruse for the buyer. What I want to know is how does this work? Do I call, for example, vendor XYZ to get a contact representative and tell him/her what I am looking for and they start to cull potentials for me? Do they send me photos and specs? Am I buying a diamond without seeing it in person? Are there posters on this forum that work for the vendors? When and to whom do I reveal how much I am willing to spend? Should I just lay out all my criteria such as budget, etc. right here and hope that many of you will jump in with advice?

I would appreciate advice on how to proceed.

bgray

Brilliant_Rock
First I would read about fancy cuts up above under knowledge. Get an idea of the ratio you want: Ie 1.5, 1.3 etc (the shape of EC-longer or boxier). Then do some searching by size up above and see how it matches your budget. Keep in mind step cut stones should be very clean. Usually vs2 or better for clarity and can show color so may prefer to stay above H in color. Once you have an better sense of all this then you might post your specs for advice and or reach out to vendors.

lincoln0471

Rough_Rock