shape
carat
color
clarity

New to Colored Stones (Opals) - Opinions on this Ring?

TwinMomOC

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone,

This is my first time in this forum, as I'm completely new to colored stones. I've recently been fascinated by opals and love them in vintage / art deco settings. I'm looking for a pretty statement piece, but I'm on a budget and do not know where to even begin.

I came across this ring and while I love it, I have no idea if it's a decent opal or not. Can any opal experts give me any input? The listing states that it's a solid Australian opal that is over 3 carats and measures 10 mm by 12mm.

opalring_1.jpg

opalring_2.jpg

Thanks!

DDOC

Rough_Rock
Trade
Australian Opal, average to very average quality.
Probably about $120/$130 per carat aussie dollars here (US$100), cheaper on the fields.
I've seen it for around $80 per carat.(US$50)
Pic below is around $220 per carat, 3.77 cts
The group pic is below average material that would sell fro around $40 per carat aussie, or less.
The big oval is 20.00 cts

imgp0297.jpg

imgp0312.jpg

imgp0037.jpg

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium