shape
carat
color
clarity

NEW HERE! Antique Diamond question, PLS HELP

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

alk182

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone, im new to the world of diamonds! ivew been looking at this site, and all of you expects seem to know your stuff! :0) we have recently been trying to find me an engagement ring, i found an estate piecve which we purchased, and we are getting a verragio setting for it.

This is what we know. It is 1.30 cts, J color, VS1, antique european cut, circa 1900....

i dont know the exact measurements, but its very deep. I wont know till i get it appraised as its still in original setting....does anyone have an idea of what this stone would appraise at?

thanks so much everyone!

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
To get a rough ballpark of prices for antique cuts i use faye cullen to benchmark prices as they sell lose stones and you can look up by specs and pricing. goodoldgold has also started carrying some antique cuts, though last I checked there were only 2 of them listed on there.

A LOT will depend on the stone's condition, and how accurate the assessment of the "J VS1" claims are, etc. How do you know it's a J VS1 if it's set? You can't judge color face up. So be prepared for it to come back an L-M-O. Carat size is also a little hard to estimate correctly in antique cuts (especially one that is really deep, as you say) when set.

Are you getting it appraised independantly? Also if you are looking for peice of mind. I'd send the unmounted stone to the GIA for a certificate. It will cost you a couple of hundred dollars, but it might be worth it.

HeartingDiamonds

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
I would like to add that the stone''s make plays a big role in its value. The fact that its deep does not scare me much as most old cuts do tend to run on the deep side. Followed by make is the stone''s color, then clarity.