Find your jewelry
shape
carat
color
clarity

Need help picking a better cut diamond

cj2be

Shiny_Rock
Hello! My fiancé purchased a ring that I am not pleased with (it's a modern round brilliant with a depth of 66.3%). The jeweler said we can exchange it for a new one and that he can purchase any stone from James Allen. I need help determining which stones within my price point are worth purchasing. My fiancé paid $5,800 for the ring, but I can do $6,100 MAX. My current diamond is a 1.04 carat VS2 G color. I love everything about it except the depth. I am willing to sacrifice clarity and color for a larger stone (1.2 carat max), but I definitely do not want a stone with a spread of less than 6.3mm. Preferably I would like 6.45, and I don't wan't lower than a .94 carat. As far as color goes, I really don't want to go below I unless it's over 1.1 carat. When it comes to certifications, I am a rookie. I just want to make sure this time around we get an ideal cut stone that is incredibly brilliant and doesn't have inclusions near the table that can be seen with the naked eye. PLEASE help me and show me examples that are good contenders!!!

MissGotRocks

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Use these guidelines:

Table 55-58
Crown angle 34-35
Pavilion 40.6 - 40.9
Depth no more than 62.3

You can always plug these numbers from the certs into the HCA - anything that scores under 2 is worth further consideration. Stick with GIA or AGS certs. None of the ones you posted fall within these ranges in all categories.

lydial

Shiny_Rock

cj2be

Shiny_Rock
Did you see this one? HCA 1.2, AGS ideal, $6140. Cut is beautiful to my amateur (learning) eyes, but the inclusion is right there - not sure how you feel about that.

Also: in case you were not aware - if you like something you see here you should contact the seller and "reserve" it because other buyers lurk on the message board and then snatch up the suggestions.