shape
carat
color
clarity

Need Engagement Ring Help/Thoughts/Opinion

loose_change

Rough_Rock
Newbie here, in the market for an engagement ring (ering?) and I'm pretty sure I know exactly what I want. I'm thinking cushion cut diamond split shank single halo, with a high quality center stone just under 1 carat. My budget is about 7-8k. I visited a few jewelry stores and found some things I liked but nothing I loved so I'm exploring a custom made ring. I took a local jeweler with a good reputation the attached photo and he said he could make me something similar in platinum for about $4500. That leaves me about $3500 for the center stone. I was looking at something like this: http://www.jamesallen.com/loose-diamonds/cushion-cut/0.88-carat-g-color-if-clarity-sku-206004 I liked James Allen because you could see the actual stone, which can vary a lot in cushion cuts. First question - is it strange to spend more on the setting than on the center stone? Second question, is the price of the setting reasonable? Third - do you think i will notice a difference in size .8 carat vs .9? Fourth - any other thoughts or opinions? Appreciate any help you guys can offer!
Thanks!

mightbetheone2_0.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
$4500 is expensive for a simple split prong halo platinum setting as shown; you should be able to get one custom made (CAD/CAST) specifically for your stone for around $3000 to $3500. Size wise, check the mm size; there are some 0.8 ct diamonds that will face up as large or bigger than a 0.9 ct diamond, depending on the cut. As for the JA cushion, I am not crazy about the cut; it looks as though there is a hole in the middle due to the darkness.

loose_change

Rough_Rock
Thanks, that's what I came here for! I'll keep looking appreciate your input.

jramy278

Shiny_Rock