shape
carat
color
clarity

My mom is unhappy with my new diamond? Please help!!!

kayi078

Rough_Rock
The diamond i bought:
1.438ct F VS1 3ex none

AGS Cert:
http://www.agslab.com/pdf_sync_reports/104089964007-PLDQRH.PDF

HCA Score: 1.2

I received it today and it looks good to me. My mom (not an expert but bought few diamonds over last 20 years) criticize it looks small and non-shiny. From my understanding it is not ACA cut but it is an expert selection in WF and has obvious 8 hearts 8 arrows shape....

My questions are:

1. What are you opinion on this diamond?
  2. Will it look bigger and shinier after i mounted the ring (thinking of tiffany 6 prong replica in platinum)
  3. Should i return it?
Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

P

PierreBear

I'm not a diamond expert and won't comment on the stone. However, I just wanted to remind you that if it's a piece that you will be wearing that your feelings and opinions on the stone matter the most! If it's something you are giving to your mom, then perhaps follow her lead. From what I understand though, an expert selection should still be a good quality stone and perhaps your tolerance of what is "pretty" allows you to save a bit. Good luck and I hope other experts chime in on the stone you picked out!

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I am sure the stone is in the category of top cut stones considering it is AGS Ideal cut and does not appear to have anything out of order. You have close to the look of a 1.5 ct without the price jump. I guess I'd tell my mom that if she thinks it is too small, I'd gladly let her pay the difference so I could get a 2 ct ACA. Seriously.

kayi078

Rough_Rock
Sorry i forgot to say

It will be used as engagement ring but i showed it to my mom today and she keeps asking me to return it now =[

ac117

Ideal_Rock
Premium