shape
carat
color
clarity

My Alexandrite on the way, initial thoughts?

BigC

Rough_Rock
Premium
I am a new Alexandrite purchaser, but did quite a bit of research and looking at stones in person and online.
I do NOT have the stone in my possession yet, but these are a few of the pictures I had to look at before making the purchase. Its a 0.81car Marquise, Blue Green changing to Purple
Hue: Blue, green and red
Intensity = High
Tone = Medium Dark
GIA #6183080260

Sorry if they are crappy pictures, NEWBIE HERE. I wanted something that wasn't your normal oval or round cuts, this checked all the boxes. The green is lighter than the picture indicates (as very common with photographing Alex's).
I will be adding it to a setting for my wife, June birthday. I am thinking of yellow gold with 2 pear shaped diamonds on the side. But once I have the stone, I will be finding the perfect setting for it.

Honest thoughts are appreciated, of course hard to judge without many pictures.
I will add more when I have the stone, and post pictures of the final ring once its settled on.
Thanks!

C
s.jpg
s-l160.jpg
s0.jpg
s-l1600.jpg

Bron357

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Beautiful.
I would consider setting it east / west with two like “half moon” diamond halos either side that go down a bit onto the band.

BigC

Rough_Rock
Premium
Ohhh, very interesting setting suggestion. It never even crossed my mind to have the setting go east/west.
I will have to do some searches and see what that might look like!
THANKS for the suggestion.
I am just excited to view the stone in hand. Itll be here on Saturday (have to hide it from my wife first though).

BigC

Rough_Rock
Premium
That is quite a beautiful ring, that's where I am torn between a halo type piece or something simple as a solitaire or 3 stone setting. I want something that will allow the color changes and reflecting light, so that's why I figured small diamonds on the sides.

The size of the stone is 10.26 x 4.68 x 2.50