shape
carat
color
clarity

Mahenge spinel open ring is here!

katharath

Ideal_Rock
and I feel like it deserves its' own thread, as they are my first spinels period, and beautiful. I'm very happy with how this one turned out. The gems are the largest that I've used for this style ring and I think the max size I would want. They are 4.55 mm each. No windows, even the tilt windows are hard to see on these gems. They are Portuguese cut which is always extra hard for me to photograph, but I sure tried (lots of pics to follow!!). The only real "issue" with these is some extinction but it's not enough to bother me. The color is very nice in my (limited) opinion, but they look better than I can get them to show in the pics. Brighter and pinker. In indoor lighting they look more strawberry neon-like to me than they do in sunlight, and I don't know if that's normal or not, but I see a deeper color indoors. They don't look orange or brown to me at all, in any lighting, but I'm not good with seeing secondary hues until they're pointed out to me, lol. I certainly don't mind any critiques though, I'm always very interested in learning more about my gems and appreciate any opinions.

Long store long...Basically I think they're beautiful! :)

I took pics in indirect sunlight as well so I will post both.

katharath

Ideal_Rock
Outdoor/indirect sunlight (pictured with my yellow sapphires, both rings set in 14k yellow gold)

katharath

Ideal_Rock
Indoor lighting, no outside lighting influence at all

katharath

Ideal_Rock
Some fun pics with the other open rings (all natural sunlight on these)

katharath

Ideal_Rock
Last pics, color mish mash!

katharath

Ideal_Rock