shape
carat
color
clarity

Looking for a little advise!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Diamond Inquisitor

Rough_Rock
Hi everyone! I am VERY new at this whole diamond buying thing, but have read a lot on this site and have recieved some wonderful advise thus far... THANK YOU! I am currently looking for a 1.25-1.35 brilliant round stone for an e-ring. A local wholesaler (and friend?!?!) has the following stone available. Unfortunnitally the cert is EGL Israel, which seems to be VERY lax on grading (per MANY posts on PS!). Based on some PS advise, I've taken the stone to a reputable independent appraiser... the appraiser's findings are listed next to the cert. info.

EGL Cert #2562459538
Date: December 28, 2005
Weight: 1.29 ct.
Shape: Rounnd Brilliant
6.95-6.90 x 4.34mm
Total Depth: 62.7%
Total Height: 56%
Crown Height: 16%
Pavilion Depth: 43%
Girdle: Thin Fac
Polish: Very Good
Symm.: Very Good
Culet: None
Clar.: VS1 (VS1)
Grain.: Nil
Color: E (F-G)
Flour.: slight (medium)
Cut: "Tolkowsky" Ideal

Asking price = $9,000.00

The appraiser said this was "a good deal", but I what do YOU think?!? Anny and all feed back would be GREAT, as I'm at a loss and want to make sure I'm getting a nice diamond!!!

Thanks!

belle

Super_Ideal_Rock
well..you could get a similar, better even, stone with gia or ags grading for less through a ps vendor, but if you feel you need to buy from your friend, then so be it. the price is about right for a b&m store.
to satisfy your curiosity put your parameters in the ''pricescope your diamond'' search tool above. you will be able to see prices for similar diamonds.

Diamond Inquisitor

Rough_Rock