shape
carat
color
clarity

Little scamming rant

ArielleB

Shiny_Rock
I'm pretty new to all this, and like any good pricescoper I read the scammer warning topic in the preloved jewels section. And I suddenly realised why soooo many people I contacted on loupe troop and diamond bistro either wouldn't sell to me, or didn't even reply! I think it's really, really smart to be aware of the dangers of online selling/overseas postage, but just want to put it out there that not every Australian who contacts you about your jewels is trying to scam you! I've missed out on some amazing buys because that guy wanted things posted via Australia, grrr.

Is there some way to verify how virtuous and earnest and honestly desirous of your goods one might be, so as to circumvent this stigma?

Or...have I got it wrong? Are there other reasons people don't want to post internationally???

:confused:

ForteKitty

Ideal_Rock
It's harder to claim insurance if something goes missing in transit, and I'm always a nervous wreck until my buyer tells me it arrived safe and sound. That's why I don't sell Internationally anymore. I would love to, but the risk is too high. :(

ArielleB

Shiny_Rock
Thanks, Fortekitty! I get that, I've posted a few things to the US, and I'm always a bit nervous as well. I always pay more and get insured and trackable postage; luckily I've never had anything go missing. If I had, is it difficult to get money back?! I had no idea.

ForteKitty

Ideal_Rock
I hope to never find out what the claims process is like! A few times I've shipped overseas, the delivery person just left the package outside and didn't require a signature. If someone stole it, I don't know how I'd be able to file a claim if the local post office claims it was delivered.

marymm

Ideal_Rock
Premium
It is tricky mailing jewelry and loose gemstones from the US to international countries.