shape
carat
color
clarity

LGD favoritism?

TiffanyBlue

Rough_Rock
Hi all! So I am really new to the LGD world, done some research about various growing methods, picked out a stone, etc… i know there may always be bigger, better diamonds on someone else’s finger but what I really want to know is this:

Why do people here seem to favor HPHT over CVD? Is CVD really that bad or is it a case of people just prefer HPHT because it more mimics the way diamonds are formed in the earth? I feel a lot of posts here try to steer people away from CVD diamonds, and that makes me feel my choice is somehow inferior or that I chose wrongly without doing enough research.

Is it purely a matter of personal opinion or is there something I’m missing? I don’t want to look at my ring for years to come and think “rats, shoulda gone with HPHT cause I got an inferior stone”. Am I right or wrong in thinking like this?

I like being educated but not too educated because then I second guess everything! Maybe I should stay off PS while waiting for my ring to be finished! Lol!!

vintageinjune

Brilliant_Rock
What it boils down to, in my opinion, is that it is perceived to be easier to find the "faults" in a HPHT diamond (color nuance, inclusions, haziness, etc.) than the "faults" with a CVD diamond (does the internal graining affect light performance, or does it not?). My lab grown diamond earrings are CVD, picked by Jon, and while I could see some graining in the magnified videos, in real life they are clear and so, so sparkly.

At this point, wait to see your ring in person and yes, if you need, take a PS break so you stop overthinking (which I realize is much easier said than done!).

Diamond Girl 21

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I did all the research before purchasing my LG diamond, and was honestly leaning toward HPHT. In the end, I decided to get a Distinctive Emerald Cut diamond, and was comfortable enough with Jon's vetting process to allow him to make the decision.