shape
carat
color
clarity

letting go of the old and looking for new

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

simmplyb

Rough_Rock
I am a newbie here and I need a crash course and a little hand holding. I found PS because of my misfortune. I lost my rings at work (I''m in healthcare and had to remove them.) Long sad
39.gif
story short, I lost three diamond rings that were (thankfully) insured. Now I am looking for replacement(s).

I''ve tried to learn as much as I can here in a very short time to figure out how a replacement will help me let go of what I had. I''ve decided to get one stone and one setting with the value I had in the three rings which valued at 23K.

I''m still looking at settings so that is a variable that is still up in the air, but plan to allocate around 3k towards this. I would like to use most of my budget on the diamond.

Is pricing different to a B&M store if it''s an insurance deal? Do insurance carriers work with online diamond stores? The store I''m going to is recommended by my insurance company, but has also been ok''d by my own personal jeweler. I''m leaning towards going to the insurance carrier''s recommended store because they have more settings that interest me. During one visit (just to shop settings), I asked if their diamond prices were competitive with online diamond prices.....answer was yes. Tomorrow I go to see more settings and begin looking at diamonds. My goal is to get a 2.3-2.5 carat round brilliant stone with ''good performance'' and ''spread''. The store sells GIA cert. diamonds. I would like to get an excellent cut, H-I color, VS2-SI1(eye clean) clarity. I''m I being realistic?

Any advice for me? TIA!

petrock<3

Brilliant_Rock
I don''t know about the pricing, just wanted to say good luck. It is sad that you lost your rings, but now you get to go on a little diamond adventure and that can be fun. Keep us posted!

Dreamer_D

Super_Ideal_Rock