shape
carat
color
clarity

James Allen tells me IGI as good as GIA. True?

Hi there,

I am new to buying solitaire diamonds and am hoping you can help. I have between 10-10,500 to spend and want to go as big as I can for that amount, no lower than H in color because I actually can see color and below H bothers me. Went to James Allen based on internet reviews. I told the chat rep. I was willing to sacrifice clarity as long as it was eye clean, which, I explained, TO ME means inclusions will be hidden by the setting. I was hoping to have an actual discussion about this (with someone on the other end actually looking at stones), but that did not happen. I was told -- on chat-- that, to get eye clean, I need to go with Vs2 minimum (maybe Vs1, I can't recall). Reading this forum though, a lot of you women seem to have "eye clean" stones that fall below this. So that is my first question: How do I cut corners on clarity and still get an "eye clean" stone.

Next, three JA reps insist that IGI is as good as GIA, even though literally everything I have read on the internet says otherwise.

Am starting to wonder what is up here. The stone I reserved is IGI not GIA and is just 1.52 cts. Honestly, I was hoping for more bang for my buck. That said, the diamond actually looks pretty and it spoke to me more than the only other two they said they had in my range with GIA cert and 1.5 minimum (I won't go to 1.48 because, believe it or not, I DO see the difference).

If you care to weigh in, here is a link to the stone. I am really having second thoughts.
https://www.jamesallen.com/loose-di...h-color-vs1-clarity-excellent-cut-sku-2861969

Any help, thoughts, advice, name of person at JA to deal with would be much appreciated. Am also interested in names of other, reputable on-line brokers. Thanks.

flyingpig

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Generally, IGI is considered a second tier lab in PS community.