shape
carat
color
clarity

Is this a good stone at a good price?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Demelza

Ideal_Rock
Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I am in the market for an emerald cut diamond somewhere in the 1-1.5 carat range. It's so much more difficult to assess an emerald cut diamond than it is a round brilliant. I need all the help I can get. I came across this one on Whiteflash. The price seems excellent! Is it too good to be true? Any thoughts? Thanks a lot!!!

http://www.whiteflash.com/emerald/Emerald-cut-diamond-564227.htm#

diamondsman

Brilliant_Rock
Trade
The stone seems to be very nicely cut from the measurments, as it has a rtio of 1.49:1 which is nice in emerald cut.
It would be on the long side which is what most people like,but it really all depends on your preferences.

As far as price is concerened it is not bad, but I suggest you search a little more and compare before you make your decision.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The AGA standards would be the only reference I know available for evaluating the cut of an EC. Personally, I believe that your own taste is the best guide for these. I like the reasonable depth of your stone, the well balanced choice of color and clarity and, of course, the price. What I may have doubts about is the large table: some like this look, but it is arguably a good promise for the stone to look transparent rather than fiery. One rule of thumb often mentioned around here is that the table% should be less than the depth%.

The price is among the lowest around, but not a complete knock-out. Look at this contender, for example. With a 1.37 LxW ratio is not as slender as your choice though... This example is just meant to show that there are alternatives in the same price range for the color and clarity you have chosen.